Arts + Culture
Share
Print article

Comment

MIFF’s French Films

Laura Griffin - 04/07/13 - www.MyFrenchLife.org

Logo & images courtesy of MIFF from http://miff.com.au/

For more information and to book tickets see http://miff.com.au/

The Melbourne International Film Festival opens tonight with a Belgian/French film called The Fairy. The Age describes it as ‘a light, charming vaudeville-style romp that recalls the physical comedies of Buster Keaton, Charlie Chaplin and Jacques Tati’.

Other French films showing are:
–       Black Venus – Mon 25 July 9pm GU, Thu 4 August 3.30pm Forum
–       Fleurs du Mal – Sun 24 July 1.30pm GU, Thu 28 July, 4.45pm Kino
–       The Giants (/Belgium) – Fri 29 July at Forum
–       Le Havre – Fri 22 July 6.30pm Forum, Thur 4 Aug 6.30pm Forum
–       The Kid with a Bike – (/Belgium/Italy) Thu 28 July 9pm Forum, Sat 30 July 9pm Forum
–       Living On Love Alone – Sat 23 July 4pm GU, Thu 28 July at 11am Forum
–       Michel Petrucciani – (/Germany/Italy) Fri 22 July 6.30pm, Tue 2 Aug 4pm Forum
–       Mysteries of Lisbon – (/Portugal) Tue 26 July 6.30pm ACMI, Sat 6 Aug 11am ACMI
–       On The Sly – (/Belgium) Fri 29 July 11am ACMI, Sun 7 Aug 1.30pm ACMI
–       Outside Satan – Sat 24 July 1.30pm ACMI, Wed 3 Aug 4pm ACMI
–       Polisse – Sat 23 July 6.30pm ACMI, Mon 1 Aug 4pm
–       The Silence of Joan – Fri 22 July 4pm ACMI, Mon 25 July 6.30pm ACMI
–       Sleeping Sickness – (/Germany/Netherlands) Fri 5 Aug Forum, Sun 7 Aug 1.30pm GU
–       The Screen Illusion – Sat 23 July 6.30pm GU, Sun 7 Aug 1.30pm GU
–       Tales Of The Night – Sun 31 July 1pm Hoyts, Sat 6 Aug 1pm Hoyts
–       Think global, act rural – Sun 24 July 9pm GU, Fri 5 Aug 6.30pm GU
–       Tomboy – Sat 23 July 4pm Forum, Wed 27 July 9pm GU
–       Top Floor Left Wing – (/Luxembourg) Mon 25 July 9pm, Fri 29 July 6.30pm
–       Viva Riva – (/Congo/Belgium) Tue 26 July 9pm GU, Thu 4 Aug 9pm Kino

 

French documentary
–       It may be that beauty has strengthened our resolve – Fri 29 July 9.30pm ACMI, Sun 31 July 9pm ACMI

French film as part of MIFF’s retrospective
–       Beauty and The Beast – Sat 23 July 11am Forum, Thu 28 July 9pm Kino

French Canadian films
–       Curling – Tue 26 July 11am Forum, Fri 29 July Kino
–       Familiar Ground – Thu 4 Aug 11am Forum, Sun 7 Aug 4pm Forum

 

 

Other films France was involved in, but not in French
–       A Separation – (/Iran) Sun 24 July 9pm Forum, Sun 31 July 11am GU
–       Beauty – (/South Africa) Wed 3 Aug 9pm Forum, Sun 7 Aug 4pm GU
–       Cave of Forgotten Dreams – (/Canada/USA/Germany/UK) Sat 23 July 1pm Hoyts, Sat 6 Aug 4pm Hoyts
–       Detroit Wild City – Mon 25 July 4pm ACMI, Sun 31 July 6.30pm GU
–       Melancholia – (/Denmark/Sweden/Germany) Fri 22 July 9pm Forum, Fri 5 Aug 6.30pm GU
–       Neds – (/UK/Italy) Mon 1 Aug 9pm Forum, Fri 5 Aug 6.30pm GU
–       Play – (/Sweden/Denmark) Sat 30 July 9pm ACMI, Mon 1 Aug 9pm ACMI
–       The Route Irish – (UK/Italy/Belgium/Spain) Tue 26 July 6.30pm GU, Fri 29 July 6.30pm GU

Note: GU = Greater Union (on Russell St), Forum = Forum Theatre (on Flinders Street), Hoyts = Hoyts Melbourne Central (on Swanston St)



Join the conversation

1 Comment




  1. Judy MacMahon
    10 years ago

    Melbourne International Film Festival starts tonight! Wow I’d forgotten and I’m out of town… hope everyone else can go. Thanks for the reminder Laura!